Ideal Self?

post01

 

What could be an Ideal Self?

I reflected on people who were ideal. Names both living and dead surfaced instantly – artists, literates, philosophers, historians, visionaries and so on…. Geniuses whose works are always a source of tremendous inspiration. Their life and times, their glories and makings are continuously being reviewed, propagated and honored. But is it enough? Enough to hallmark them as ideal? All my learning’s suddenly seemed very stunted. My understandings paled into incomprehension.

I rephrased the question: ‘Am I my Ideal Self?’
Generally, my thoughts and I are forever engaged! Aroused or asleep our discourses are never-ending. We are like two beads strung together alternating between dissension and agreement. But this question left me paralyzed. It silenced my thoughts leaving me vacant and stranded…

In between daily mundane chores I resolutely pursued the question – What could be this ideal self? Are we born with certain prefixed genetic code that determines our ideal self? Are we bred into it through culture and upbringing? Do we consciously create and perfect our ideal selves? Or is it a prophesy willing to touch and uplift only the chosen ones? As a woman possessed I remained steadfast in my quest but in moments of dissolution I felt agitated, bereft, exposed…

Perhaps there is no ideal self –  I confessed and it was then, that all my dissociated thoughts surfaced back with remarkable transparency!

There is no Ideal Self!

Ideal Self is a concept, a learning. Our perceptions, experiences, understandings are always observing, shifting, expanding and this process helps to create that Ideal Self! Our lives are suspended between past and present and inside this wavering and reeling we are ceaselessly perfecting our imperfections!

Ideal Self is a preference, it is a resolution we make to ourselves. Life is emphasized by crossroads. Every divide makes us pause, offers us to choose. Our decisions become our Ideal Self.

All my queries were inappropriately phrased. It is not ‘What is an ideal self?’ or ‘Who is an ideal self?’ or whether ‘Am I an ideal self ?’
It is: ‘Am I becoming my ideal self?’ – through my know-hows, my exposures and my accomplishments…

In the end if we choose to live this Life with compassion, enrich the Self with sound wisdom and provide meaningful service to all of Humanity then we are consciously becoming our Ideal Selves. And to pay reverence to what Baudelaire had said this is how we will ‘end up looking like our ideal selves…’

One thought on “Ideal Self?

  1. Pingback: just a thought: “There is no difference between people, not that we’re born with, not of any natural value.” (©always | euzicasa

Leave a Reply

